Sausages for the BBQ

Nothing nicer to BBQ than these homemade Balkan sauages

Balkan Sausages

One of our favourite foods for our barbie is sausages, easy to make and quick to cook, you can just slap them in bread and eat without the fuss of a plate. It certainly makes my life easier without the washing up. This week I have found a new recipe I want to try, Balkan sausages. I will be making a slight change to the ingredients as I will use half lean beef mince with half chicken mince; I also thought the rice might be a bit of a change to our usual menu of salads and bread. My family likes a good spicy sauce to go with our meat and my quick go to, is a thick tomato ketchup and Worcestershire sauce mix I sometimes buy commercial ones but the boys prefer my own. I often throw a couple of chopped hot chilies in the mix as well. One of the kids favourite sauces is “Mr Toads sauce”; named after Mr Toad in Wind and the Willows, remember he used to say ‘Onion sauce’ when he was upset? Well I made a caramelized onion sauce many years ago when they were young and I wasn’t as confident in my skills as I am now, got a bit narky during the making and hence the name.

Onion Sauce a oft repeat quote from Toad of Toad Hall , from the book Wind in the willows

Toad from “Wind in the Willows” ..

Leave a Reply

